2021 Awards Day

Our annual End of Year Awards Program is where we come together as a school to acknowledge and celebrate the hard work that our students have done during their time at Georgia Tech.

Watch Our Awards Program

Academic Merit Awards

Rho Chapter of the Tau Sigma Delta Honor Society 

Graduating Spring 2021:

  • Dylan Bonsignore*
  • Tiffany Bouquet*
  • Rachael Carstens*
  • Kristy Cho*
  • Prerana Kamat*
  • Carly Langsdorf* 
  • Quynh Pham* 
  • Jane Rodrigues* 
  • Varun Sethi*
  • Manushi P. Sheth*
  • Aishwarya Somasundaram*
  • Savannah Jones Wheeler*
  • Dana Bellville*
  • Emir (Sina) Billici*
  • Tori Ellis* 
  • Benjamin Mayo* 

*denotes newly inducted

New Inductees Fall 2020:

  • Maya Assaad
  • Thomas Bray
  • AnLi French
  • Katelyn Hestad
  • Mary Hestad
  • Sean Li
  • So Min Park
  • Alexander Poff
  • Colin Woodham

School of Architecture Class of 1979 Award

  • Alexander Poff (B.S. in Architecture) 

Alan Salzman Scholarship

  • Nathan Mitchell (B.S. in Architecture)
  • Jiahe Xu (B.S. in Architecture)
  • Sophie Myers (B.S. in Architecture)
  • Karen Kodera (B.S. in Architecture)

Albert Lee Hawes Scholarship

  • Marianna Godfrey (B.S. in Architecture)
  • Walden Jones (B.S. in Architecture)

James Bowden Addy Memorial Scholarship

  • AnLi French (B.S. in Architecture) 

John William Sandeford Memorial Scholarship

  • Nancy Aburto (M.Arch) 
  • Minji Kim (M.Arch) 
  • Hunter Perry (M.Arch) 

Stanley, Love-Stanley Award

  • Kyla Dowlen (B.s. in Architecture)
  • Sharod Bryant (M.Arch)

Frank Beckum Jr. Memorial Award

  • Elliot Park (M.Arch) 

Stevens & Wilkinson Scholarship

  • Eden Wright (M.Arch)

Marthame Sanders Award

  • Paola Santiago-Toledo (M.Arch) 

Nix Mann Fellowship

  • Monica Rizk (M.Arch)

T. Gordon Little Fellowship

  • Ian Matthew Morey (M.Arch, Fall 2020 Recipient)
  • Rich Fridy (M.Arch, Fall 2020 Recipient)

Niles Bolton & Associates Firm Fellowship

2020-2021 Recipients

  • Paola Santiago-Toledo (M.Arch)
  • Hafsa Siap (M.Arch)

Wakefield-Beasley & Associates

2020-2021 Recipient

  • Leah Baldocchi (M.Arch) 


Leadership & Service Awards

Alpha Rho Chi Medal

  • Kathi Tran (B.S. in Architecture) 

Gwinner AIAS Student Leadership Awards

  • AnLi French (B.S. in Architecture), Incoming President
  • Lauren Riehm (B.S. in Architecture), Incoming Vice President, Undergraduate
  • Keith Hughes (M.Arch), Incoming Vice President, Graduate

Henry Adams AIA Gold Medal & Certificate of Achievement 

  • Quynh Pham (M.Arch & MCRP)

School of Architecture Leadership, Service, and Professional Promise Award

  • Hayri Dortdivanlioglu (Ph.D. in Architecture)

The Lord Aeck Sargent Design Fellowship

  • Michael Poteat (M.Arch)

Competitions & Special Recognitions

Mike Rice Design Competition (First Year Studio)

  • First Prize - Kotaro Ito (B.S. in Architecture)
  • Second Prize - Xinyan (Teresa) Li (B.S. in Architecture)
  • Third Prize - Nathan Mitchell (B.S. in Architecture)
  • Honorable Mention - Cayleigh Nicholson (B.S. in Architecture)
  • Honorable Mention - Ryan Stoddard (B.S. in Architecture)

Earthshare Fellowship

  • Jennie Lynn Rudder (MSUD) 
  • Sydnee Henry (M.Arch) 

Architecture Foundation of Georgia Scholarship

  • Patricia Del Moral-Suazo (M.Arch)
  • Gillian Gingher (M.Arch)
  • Miguel Arana (M.Arch) 

Dagmar Epsten Environmental Vision Prize

This year, the Epsten Prize will contribute to the operating funds of each student organization in in the School of Architecture: 

  • ECO - Katelyn Dimopoulos (Current President)
  • EQIA - Kathi Tran (Current President)
  • NOMAS - Sharod Bryant (Current President)
  • AIAS - Colt Brock (Current President)
  • CONCAVE - Hayri Dortdivanlioglu & Marisabel Marratt (Ph.D. Organizers) 

Capstone Design Expo Architecture Award Winners

“All Right Architecture”– Project from Ventulett NEXT Fellow Ryan Roark’s senior studio

  • Arthima Chaisiri (B.S. in Architecture)
  • Chris Geng (B.S. in Architecture) 

Urban Land Institute – Gerald D. Hines Student Urban Design Competition

“Cattylst”– Faculty Advisors, Perry Yang and Ellen Dunham-Jones; Professional Advisors, Howard Wertheimer, Chris Faussemagne, and David Haddow

  • Erin Heidelberger (M.S. in Architecture)
  • Alex Sovchen (MBA)
  • Akhilesh Dhurkunde (M.Arch)
  • Huangzhe Zhao (MSUD)
  • Robin Cornel (M.Arch and M.S. in Civil Engineering) 

ARCC King Student Medal

  • Heather Ligler, Ph.D., Thanos Economou, Advisor

Lewis F. & Patricia R. Lanter Student Award – School of Architecture Design Excellence Award

  • Ziyi Zhang (B.S. in Architecture)

D+R Prize

  • Hafsa Siap (M.Arch)

Top Designer for the Bachelor of Science in Architecture

  • Ben Mayo (B.S. in Architecture) 

Top Designer for the Master of Science in Urban Design 

  • Christopher Barnum (MSUD) 

Top Designer for the Master of Architecture

  • Kristy Cho (M.Arch) 

Portman Prize

Jury Chair: Mario Gooden, founding principal of Huff + Gooden Architects, 2021 Portman Prize Visiting Critic

  • First Place: Monica Rizk
  • Second Place: Gillian Gingher
  • Third Place: Caite Canfield
  • Honorable Mention: Mathew Sheldon
  • Honorable Mention: Patricia Del Moral
  • Honorable Mention: Breanna Rhoden 

Provost’s Academic Excellence Award

  • Chloe Kiernicki (B.S. in Architecture) 

Fulbright Scholarship Award Recognition

  • Chloe Kiernicki* (B.S. in Architecture) 

*Chloe will be studing sustainable architecture in Finland. 

TA and Future Faculty Awards Recognized at Institute Awards Day

  • Hayri Dortdivanlioglu (Ph.D. in Architecture) – Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Award
  • Bryce Truitt (M.Arch) – Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award
  • Jane Rodrigues (M.Arch) – Online Teaching Assistant of the Year for the School of Architecture
  • Erin Heidelberger (M.S. in Arch) - Online Head TA of the Year for the School of Architecture

Dean William L. Fash Award for Teaching Excellence

  • Assistant Professor Danielle Willkens 


If you can't find the information you were looking for, we'll get you to the right place.
Contact Us