Center for Civil & Human Rights exterior

Portman Prize Studio Critic

Portman Prize Studio Critic

The purpose of the Portman Prize and the Portman Visiting Critic Program is to foster design excellence and student creativity in the School of Architecture at Georgia Tech. Recognizing student accomplishment and excellence in the integration of technical considerations is a key constituent of the design process pursued through the Portman Prize. It is awarded through competition by a distinguished jury chaired by the Portman Visiting Critic who also participates over the semester as a roving design studio critic and public lecturer.

The competition jury awards ranked prizes, each carrying monetary awards. The top prize winner is also offered a summer internship in the office of John Portman & Associates. 

Guy Nordenson headshot

2022 Portman Prize Studio Critic

Guy Nordenson, founding principal of Guy Nordenson and Associates

Guy Nordenson is a structural engineer and professor of architecture at Princeton University.  He has been the engineer for over 200 projects, including the National Museum of African American History and Culture in Washington DC, Santa Fe Opera House, Toledo Glass Pavilion, the International African American Museum, and Emmanuel Nine Memorial, in Charleston SC, and oversaw the design of David Hammons’ Day’s End sculpture in the Hudson River. 

Portman Prize History

The Portman Prize and Portman Visiting Critic Program has been generously supported since 2000 by the Atlanta firm of John Portman & Associates, Inc. Portman is an internationally recognized architectural and engineering firm with offices in Atlanta, Georgia, and Shanghai, China.

Established in 1953, Portman has over 50 years of expertise in designing hotels, universities, offices, trade marts, and mixed-use urban complexes around the world. Vision, creativity, and an entrepreneurial spirit are the fundamentals of their human-centered design philosophy. Georgia Tech is proud to be a partner with Portman in advancing these values through the Portman Prize.

Past Portman Prize Visiting Critics

2021 Mario Gooden
2020  Alan Organschi
2019  Alan Organschi
2018 Billie Faircloth, AIA, LEED AP BD+C
2017 Claire Weisz, FAIA
2016 Brigitte Shim, FRAIC OC RCA Hon. FAIA OAA
2015 Julie Snow, FAIA
2014 Laurie Hawkinson, FAIA
2013 Jane Wernick, FREng Hon FRIBA FRSA CEngFIStructE FICE
2012 Maryann Thompson, FAIA
2011 Karl Backus, AIA
2009 Margaret Crawford, Ph.D.
2008 Jonathan Segal, FAIA
2007 Julie Eizenberg, AIA
2006 David Baker, FAIA (Visiting Critic)
2006 Jorge Silvetti (Jury Chair)
2005 Teddy Cruz
2004 Jeff Speck, AICP
2003 Gregg Pasquarelli, AIA
2002 Lily Chi
2001 Lindy Roy
2000 Lawrence Speck, FAIA


If you can't find the information you were looking for, we'll get you to the right place.
Contact Us